SMART4ALL Opens Call on CTTE

SMART4ALL 1st Open Call on Cross-domain Technology Transfer Experiments is open!

SMART4ALL invites nominations for its 1st Open Call on CTTE. The Prizes are part of the SMART4ALL programme which is supported by the European Union under Horizon 2020.

Cross-domain Technology Transfer Experiments (CTTEs) are short-term duration (6-9 months) experiments focusing on one of the four defined verticals (Digitized Transport, Digitized Agriculture, Digitized Environment and Digitized Anything). CTTEs will give the opportunity to form synergies, accelerate product orient projects and offer guidance towards successful commercialization.

Within this type of experiments, 3 different entities are involved from at least two different eligible countries.  One Academic/Industrial Technology Provider transfers a novel technology to one Industrial Technology Receiving partner as an early-adopter and then one Industrial productization partner extends the value chain. The partners shall apply together as a consortium through a simple application form.

The consortium composition can be as follows:

Technology Provider Technology Receiver Productizer
Academic, Country 1 Industrial, Country 1 or 2  

Industrial, Country 2, 1 or 3

Industrial, Country 1 Academic, Country 1 or 2
Industrial, Country 1 Industrial, Country 1 or 2

The leading partner must always have an Industrial partner status (SME or Slightly Bigger company).


Who can apply for CTTE?

Consortia composed of three different entities from at least two different countries including one Academic/Industrial partner who acts as a Technology Provider and an Industrial partner acting as a Technology Receiver and one Industrial productization partner to extend the value chain.

Consortia can include the following type of applicants:

  • Universities and other Academic Institutions.
  • SME and Slightly Bigger Companies, as defined in the EU recommendation 2003/361. Slightly Bigger Companies are defined respectively as organizations with a staff headcount below 500 employees and a turnover below EUR 100M.
  • System Integrators and/or Technology Providers, i.e. any type of organization specialized in technology transfer or system integration, serving the needs of end-users, provided they can be categorized in one of the two previous types of beneficiaries.

The eligible countries are: EU Member States (including the United Kingdom), H2020 Associated countries and any other South-East Europe countries not listed above and included in Annex A of the H2020 Work Programme.

Additionally, since one of the goals of SMART4ALL is to support the digital transformation in mainly European countries underrepresented in European funding schemes, by means of cross-border experiments, consortia including at least one member from one of the SEE countries will be prioritized: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Hungary, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Serbia.

The applicants involved in the consortia can NOT include any SMART4ALL partners.


Financial support

The CTTE partners will apply for financial support by submitting one joint proposal describing the CTTE and its technical plan and a detailed estimation of the CTTE-related costs.

  • Financial support per CTTE

The CTTE experiments will be supported with a lump sum of up to EUR 80,000.

  • Financial support per CTTE partner

Every CTTE partner can receive a maximum financial support of EUR 60,000.

Financial support will be paid out to the leading partner, who will then distribute the funds to the other partners according to the resource distribution set up in the proposal.

Further information!